Above the road stands a tree

Such a beautiful lullaby… We sang it in class today. And the animation is just hilarious!

By Itzik Manger

Above the road stands a tree, he stands there bent down, all the birds have flied away. Three to the west, three to the east, and the rest to the south, and the tree is left alone unprotected against the storm.

I say to my mom: – Listen, do not stand in my way, mommy, I will in one-two-three become a bird… I will sit on the tree and lull it to sleep and comfort him through the winter with a beautiful melody.

My mom says: – No, child – and she weeps with tears – if you, God forbid, will sit on the tree you will freeze to death. I say: – Mom, it’s such a pity that you are crying your beautiful eyes out. I will become a bird in any case.

My mom cries: – Itzik, my precious, look here – God willing – take with you a scarf so you are not catching a cold. Also wear on the caloshen, the winter will be cold. Take with you the fur hat too – oy oy poor me…

– Take with you the undershirt, wear it, you silly boy, if you don’t want to be a guest to the dead people. I pick up the wings. It’s so heavy for me. My mom has put on me far too many things. On her little, weak bird.

I look sad into my mom’s eyes. Her love didn’t let me become a bird… Above the road stands a tree, bent down, all the birds have flied away.

About goldenemedine

Student of the glorious Yiddish language
This entry was posted in Culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

